US Army Corps of Engineers
Baltimore District

Community Participation Overview

Community participation is vital to the success of the Spring Valley Formerly Used Defense Site. A critical component of the project includes the array of tools and methods that the partnership uses to effectively communicate with the public, including establishing a Restoration Advisory Board (RAB), tours, and regular face-to-face meetings with individual community members, mailings and an active Web site.

Restoration Advisory Board

The RAB is comprised of 13 Spring Valley community stakeholders as well as representatives from the Army Corps of Engineers, Environmental Protection Agency, the District Department of the Environment, as well as the nearby public school and American University. The RAB acts in an advisory capacity to assist the government agencies engaged in the investigation and cleanup of the Spring Valley FUDS. The primary purpose of the RAB is to involve the local community in the decision making process. The RAB meets at 7 p.m. on the second Tuesday of every odd month at St. David’s Episcopal Church, 5150 Macomb Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. Meetings are open to the public.

Below is a list of current RAB members.  If you have questions about the RAB, please contact the Community Outreach Team at 410-962-0157 or Rebecca.E.Yahiel@usace.army.mil, or RAB membership chair, Malcolm Pritzker, at 202-537-9595 or malpritz@aol.com.

Greg Beumel, Community RAB Co-Chair, greg.beumel@csra.com

Jennifer Baine, Community Member, jennifer.baine@gmail.com

Paul Bermingham, Community Member, pbermingham0@yahoo.com

Mary Bresnahan, Community Member, mary.bresnahan@longandfoster.com   

Mary Kathryn Covert Steel, Community Member, mkcovert@gmail.com

Mary Douglas, Community Member, msdouglas3@aol.com  

Paul Dueffert, Community Member, environsc@gmail.com

William Krebs, Community Member, w_krebs@msn.com  

Lawrence Miller, Community Member, lawrence.miller@starpower.net  

Lee H. Monsein, MD, MPH, Community Member, leehmonsein@yahoo.com  

Malcolm L. Pritzker, Community Member, malpritz@aol.com  

Tom Smith, Community Member, tmfsmith@rcn.com  

George Vassiliou, Community Member, george_vassiliou@ml.com  

John Wheeler, Community Member, johnwheeler.dc@gmail.com  

Marguerite Clarkson, At Large - Horace Mann Elementary School, margcamp@gmail.com​

Dan Nichols, At Large - American University, dnichols@american.edu 

Steve Hirsh, Agency - EPA, hirsh.steven@epa.gov   

Dan Noble, Agency - Corps of Engineers/Military Co-Chair, dan.g.noble@usace.army.mil

Dave Tomlinson, Agency - District Department of Energy and Environment, dave.tomlinson@dc.gov

Collapse

January 9

March 12

May 14

July 9

September 10

November 12


(Please note - The St. David’s Episcopal Church staff have asked that we refrain from using the outside stairwells as a  safety precaution due to water issues, poor lighting, and lack of stairs with grips; and use the bell tower entrance (which has internal stairs and an elevator). There will be signs clearly posted to direct RAB meeting attendees to the new entrance. We thank you in advance for following the request of our hosts, the St. David’s Episcopal Church.)